Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us FEB About us Work with us / FEB Living in Groningen

The Netherlands

Delta works
Delta works

The Kingdom of the Netherlands (commonly known as 'The Netherlands') consists of twelve provinces in Western Europe and three islands in the Caribbean. The Netherlands, with a population of over 16 million, is a constitutional monarchy with a parliamentary system. Though only a small nation, it boasts a wealth of cultural heritage and is famous for its painters, windmills, tulips, clogs and notoriously flat lands. Its name means 'low country', as about 20% of the area is below sea level and 50% of the land is less than one meter above sea level.

Today international trade is the main driver of economic growth. Holland is the sixteenth largest economy in the world and 1 of the 10 leading exporting nations. As a modern European country, the Netherlands preserves its international character and is known for its liberal mentality. As a founding member of the EU and NATO, and host to the International Court of Justice in The Hague, the Netherlands is at the heart of international cooperation. Its small size, welcoming attitude to travellers, and many sights make it a destination that is unique and easy to discover.

The Dutch are known for their acceptance of diversity and their command of foreign languages, English in particular. English is more widely spoken in the Netherlands than in any other country on the continent, making life for foreigners particularly easy. The Netherlands has some of the highest-quality health care and schools globally.

Last modified:07 November 2018 09.17 a.m.