Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
About us Latest news Events

Installation Rosalind Franklin Fellows

When:Mo 10-11-2014 15:30 - 19:00
Where:Aula Academy Building, Broerstraat 5, 9712 CP Groningen
Installation RFF

The installation of the new Rosalind Franklin Fellows will take place on Monday 10 November 2014. The programme will start at 15.30 in the Aula of the Academy Building. To promote the advancement of talented international researchers at the highest levels of the institution, the University of Groningen has initiated the Rosalind Franklin Fellowship programme. The programme has been designed to create ‘room for talented women scientists’ as well as to increase the number of women scientists with a permanent appointment at the university. Since the start of the programme, more than 70 women have been awarded a fellowship. Thanks to the Rosalind Franklin Fellowship programme the University of Groningen occupies a unique position among universities in the Netherlands. For this reason, the programme is considered as ‘best practice’ in terms of creating opportunities for talented women in science.


15:30 hours: Start

› Opening by Prof Elmer Sterken, Rector Magnificus

› Introduction by Prof Ingrid Molema, Chair of the Rosalind Franklin Fellowship Committee

› Video portrait of the new Rosalind Franklin Fellows

› Official installation of the Rosalind Franklin Fellows by Prof Elmer Sterken

› Presentation by Dr Catarina Dutilh Novaes, Rosalind Franklin Fellow at the Faculty of Philosophy

› Closing by Prof Elmer Sterken

17:00 hours: Drinks in Bruinszaal and Spiegelzaal, Academy Building

19:00 hours: End of Programme

Rosalind Franklin Fellows

› Malika Ammam

› Ykelien Boersma

› Sophia Bruggeman

› Dorina Buda

› Maria Colomé Tatché

› Merel Keijzer

› Mónica López López

› Martine Maan

› Maaike Oosterveer

› Raquel Ortega Argiles

› Sonja Pyott

› Anna Salvati

› Romana Schirhagl

› Susanne Täuber

› Kathrin Thedieck

› Brigit Toebes

› Stefania Travagnin

Rosalind Franklin

Rosalind Franklin (1920-1958) completed her undergraduate and graduate studies in Chemistry at the University of Cambridge at the age of 26. Her research at the laboratory of Kings College, London, was an important contribution to the discovery of the structure of DNA. Franklin used X-ray crystallography in her research, whereas her colleague Wilkins used molecular methods. At the same time, Watson and Crick at the University of Cambridge were trying to discover the structure of DNA using a theoretical modeling approach. When they became aware of the X-ray photos of Rosalind Franklin (unbeknownst to Franklin), they immediately recognized the empirical evidence for the double helix structure. Unfortunately they did not include her in their publications. Franklin died of cancer at the age of 37, probably as a result of inadequate radiation safety measures. Had she survived, she would have become one of the most renowned female scientists of her generation in Europe. Today her work is a shining example to young, brilliant female scientists who are engaged in a career in science.

Contact person

Neeltje Miedema, email n.t.miedema


The Department of Research and Valorisation and the Communication Office, University of Groningen