Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
Over onsFaculteit der LetterenOrganisatieBestuur, afdelingen en medewerkersAfdelingenDepartment of American Studies

Faculty and Staff

Department of American Studies

Aynur Erdogan, MA
Aynur Erdogan, MA
Prof. dr. Laura Bieger
Prof. dr. Laura Bieger
Dr. Tim Jelfs
Dr. Tim Jelfs
Dr. Anne Martinez
Dr. Anne Martinez
Dr. Marietta Messmer
Dr. Marietta Messmer
Dr. Jelte Olthof
Dr. Jelte Olthof
Prof. dr. Wil Pansters
Prof. dr. Wil Pansters
Dr. Monica Silveira Brito
Dr. Monica Silveira Brito
Dr. Mark Thompson
Dr. Mark Thompson
Dr. Jeanette den Toonder
Dr. Jeanette den Toonder
Dr. Maarten Zwiers
Dr. Maarten Zwiers

Faculty and Staff Roster

Faculty E-mail Title Expertise
Erdogan, A. (Aynur), MA. a.erdogan@rug.nl PhD student Early American Print Culture; American Orientalism; American History and Culture, 1600 - 1900
Bieger, prof. dr. L.C. (Laura) l.c.bieger@rug.nl Professor American cultural, literary & media history, esp. space-media & text-reader relations; Political culture & theory, esp. theories of American modernity; Aesthetics & narrativity; Critical theory; American art & architecture; Popular culture; Transnational American Studies
Jelfs, dr. T. (Tim) t.jelfs@rug.nl Assistant Professor Twentieth and Twenty-first Century American literature, culture, politics and history; Democracy, imperialism and militarism in U.S. history, culture and politics
Martinez, dr. A.M. (Anne) a.m.martinez@rug.nl Assistant Professor Twentieth Century cultural and intellectual histories; U.S.-Mexico relations; Mexican American history and culture; American Catholicism; Religion and national identity
Messmer, dr. M.E. (Marietta) M.E.Messmer@rug.nl Associate Professor
Hemispheric American Studies; Cultural and Political Relations between the U.S. and Mexico; Central American Migration to the U.S.; Ethnic Minorities (in particular Chicanos and Native Americans); Cultural Theory; Gender Theory
Olthof, dr. J. (Jelte) jelte.olthof@rug.nl Instructor Legal and political history of the United States Constitution; American Government and Political Development; Antebellum American political history (1776-1865); Rhetorical Criticism
Pansters, prof. dr. W.G. (Wil) w.g.pansters@rug.nl Professor
Thompson, dr. M.L. (Mark) M.L.Thompson@rug.nl Assistant Professor Colonial America, the American Revolution, the Early Republic, and the US South; Ethnicity, national identity and race; Early Modern Atlantic World
den Toonder, dr. J.M.L. (Jeanette) j.m.l.den.toonder@rug.nl Assistant Professor; Director Center for Canadian Studies Canadian Studies; French and Francophone Contemporary Literature and Culture; Minority and First Nations Literature in Canada
Zwiers, dr. M. (Maarten) m.zwiers@rug.nl Associate Professor U.S. History, History of the U.S. South, Political Culture, American Studies, Southern Studies, Regional Identity, Civil Rights Movement, U.S. Civil War.
Staff E-mail Title
Silveira Brito, dr. M. (Monica) info-americanstudies@rug.nl Academic Advisor

Laatst gewijzigd:18 oktober 2017 14:44