Skip to ContentSkip to Navigation
OnderwijsUniversity of Groningen Summer SchoolsCollegium Spinozanum

Course Information

Invited papers: call

To submit a paper for the invited papers sessions, send an extended abstract of no more than 500 words to . The deadline is 20 April 2017. Notification of acceptance: 1 May 2017.


For participants who will arrive on Sunday 2 July it is possible to take part in a guided tour of the city of Groningen and welcoming drinks on Sunday 2 July, starting time 3pm. The event is free, but registration is appreciated.

Sunday 2 July
15:00 - 17:00 City tour
17:00 - 19:00 Welcoming drinks all UG summer schools
Monday 3 July
17:30 - 20:00 Registration and welcoming drinks
Tuesday 4 July

9:30 - 10:30

10:30 - 11:15

Lecture 1: Karolina Hübner (University of Toronto) - Spinoza on thinking and minds


11:30 - 12:30

13:30 - 13:15

Lecture 2: Lodi Nauta (University of Groningen): Spinoza and the Limits of Philosophical Language


15:00 - 17:00

Short Presentations: Sources and Reception

Marta Libertà de Bastiani (University of Roma Tre / ENS Lyon): Glory, Pride and Ambition. Between Spinoza and Roman Thought

Oliver Istvan Toth (Eotvos Lorand University / University of Klagenfurt): Spinoza’s theory of intellect: Alexandrian, Averroist, Themistian or Cartesian?

Stephen Zylstra ( University of Toronto ): Spinoza and Some Protestant Scholastics on Emanation and Immanent Causation

Christopher Noble (Villanova University): Automata in Spinoza’s Critique of Descartes in the Tractatus de Intellectus Emendatione

17:15 - 18:30

Reading Group

Andrea Sangiacomo (Chair): Principles of Cartesian Philosophy, Part II (selection)

Wednesday 5 July

9:30 - 10:30

10:30 - 11:15

Lecture 3: Wiep van Bunge (Erasmus University Rotterdam) - Tractatus theologico-politicus: Triumph and Failure


11:30 - 12:30

12:30 - 13:15

Lecture 4: Aurelia Armstrong (Sidney University) - On becoming what one is: Spinoza


15:00 - 17:00

Short Presentations: Moral Philosophy

Keith Green (East Tennessee State University): Spinoza on Turning the Other Cheek

Sanja Särman (Hong Kong University): Spinoza’s Dual Concept of Perfection

Timon Boehm (ETH Zürich): The power to act. A new approach to link 'metaphysics' and 'ethics' in Spinoza

Tobias Sebastian Dreher (Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität Munich): Condition and Immanence. Education in Spinoza

17:15 - 18:30

Reading Group:

Henri Krop (Erasmus University Rotterdam): Pierre Bayle
Thursday 6 July

9:30 - 10:30

10:30 - 11:15

Lecture 5: Martin Lenz (Groningen) - Spinoza on the Conatus of Ideas


11:30 - 12:50

Short Presentations: Politics of Freedom

Steph Marston (Birkbeck College, London): Tumult, indignation...Trump?

Jason Yonover (Johns Hopkins University / Yale University): Spinoza on Power

Philip Waldner (University of Klagenfurt): Spinoza on the forces of law: a political perspective
Free afternoon Participants will have the opportunity to take part in a guided trip to Spinoza’s house in Rijnsburg
Friday 7 July

9:30 - 10:30

10:30 - 11:15

Lecture 6: Beth Lord (University of Aberdeen): Spinoza and Equality


11:30 - 13:00

Short Presentations: Individuals and mereology

Robert Matyasi (University of Toronto): Spinoza’s two concepts of parthood

Sarah Tropper (Alpen-Adria-University Klagenfurt): ‘Form’ as a Limiting Term in Spinoza’s Conception of Species

Elaina Gauthier-Mamaril (University of Aberdeen): What is individual agency for Spinoza?

15:00 - 16:00

16:00 - 16:45

Lecture 7: Michael della Rocca (Yale University): The he Elusiveness of the One and the Many in Spinoza: Substance, Attribute, and Mode


17:00 - 18:30

Short Presentations: Metaphysics and epistemology

Kyle Driggers (University of North Carolina): Tschirnhaus’ Question, Revisited: Why We Can Conceive Only Two of God’s Attributes

Stefanos Regkas (Panteion University): The quatenus function: an approach of Spinoza’s theory of the attributes

Li-Chih Lin (University of Groningen): Geometrical Method as the Spinozist Philosophical Language

Organization assistant

Sabine van Enckevort

EC/Certificate of Attendance

Students who participate in all summer school activities will receive a certificate of attendance.

Methods used

Expository lectures, paper presentations, reading groups.



This summer school is supported by the Dutch Research School of Philosophy (OZSW), by the Dutch Spinoza Society and by the German Spinoza Society.


Name Affiliation
Stefan van Weers University of Amsterdam
Sören Lampe Ludwig-Maximilians-Universität
Anita van der Bos University of Groningen
Ehud Nahir Bar-Ilian University
Pablo Hubacher Haerle University of Zurich & University of Utrecht
Doğa Ulaş Budak Boğaziçi University
Keith Green East Tennessee State University
Anouk Hogers University of Groningen
Robert Matyasi University of Toronto
Sanja Särman Hong Kong University
Marta Libertà De Bastiani University of Rome 3 & ENS of Lyon
Sarah Tropper University of Klagenfurt
Élaina Gauthier-Mamaril University of Aberdeen
Johanna Wentholt University of Groningen
Oliver Toth University of Budapest & Klagenfurt University
Thomas Colbourne McGill University
Timon Boehm University of Zurich
Kyle Driggers University of North Carolina
Li SiQi University of Essex
Leonardo Moauro University of California San Diego
Li-Chih Lin University of Groningen
Sylvia Pauw Ghent University & University of Amsterdam
Philip Waldner Klagenfurt University
Jan Hendrik Hoekjen University of Utrecht
Judith Torkhani-Smit University of Groningen
Christopher Noble Villanova University in Philadelphia
John Heyderman Heythrop College, University of London
Stephen Zylstra University of Toronto
Hope Sample Ohio State University
Jason Yonover Johns Hopkins University
Kyle Novak University of Guelph
Stefanos Regkas Panteion University
Steph Marston Birkbeck College, London
Andria Nyberg Forshage Södertörn University
Tomoko Higuchi University of Rotterdam
Sigurjón Þór Friðþjófsson University of Iceland
Tatsuya Tachibana Osaka University
Takaharu Oda University of Groningen
Namita Herzl Klagenfurt University
Jacob Graham Bridgewater College
Harmen Grootenhuis University of Groningen
Barnaby Hutchins Klagenfurt University
Pablo Sierra Márquez University of Amsterdam
Ruben Endendijk University of Aberdeen
Oberto Marrama University of Groningen & Université du Québec à Trois-Rivières
Moritz Junge University of Kiel
Toby Dreher University of Munich
Deborah Epstein University of Vienna
Malte Bischof University of Notre Dame
Laatst gewijzigd:24 juli 2017 16:00